Christian Co. teacher named Teacher of the Year nominee

A Christian County teacher is among the nominees named for the 2024 Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award.

Each National History Day affiliate can nominate one middle school teacher and one high school teacher per year for this prestigious award. In addition to celebrating outstanding history scholarship and innovative classroom instruction, the award comes with a $10,000 cash prize.

In the high school division, teacher Shannon Slate from Christian County Public Schools in Hopkinsville was selected to represent Kentucky.

One national winner in the middle school division and one national winner in the high school division will be selected by a committee of experienced teachers and historians and announced on Thursday, June 13, 2024, at the National History Day National Contest Awards Ceremony in College Park, Maryland.

NHD affiliates include all 50 states and the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, and international schools in Europe and Asia. Each nominee is a teacher who demonstrates a commitment to engaging students in historical learning through the innovative use of primary sources, implementation of active learning strategies to foster historical thinking skills, and participation in the National History Day Contest.