Results are in for the May Primary Election in Christian County

It’s a wrap on the 2024 Primary Election and several seats on Hopkinsville City Council will have new faces.

The unofficial results from the Christian County Clerk’s Office, Republican challenger Vance Smith defeated incumbent Natasha Francis in Ward One, Clayton Sumner won out over Mark Graham in Ward Seven, Brittanie Bogard defeated incumbent Jamie Lineberger in the Ward Nine Republican primary, Republican Mike Velez Sr. defeated Republican incumbent Steve Keel in Ward 10 and Elizabeth Draude won out over Republican incumbent Matthew Handy in Ward 12.

Smith will face Democrat Markeeta Oldham Wilkerson in the general election, while Bogard will go on to face Angelique Victor in the November General Election, after Victor defeated her opponents Ardell Owens and Monike Love in the Democratic race for Ward Nine. Velez will square off against Andra Gold in November, after Gold was victorious over Angelita Atkins.

Victor says when her life was at it’s lowest when her son was murdered in 2019, and now she has the many individuals who call Ward Nine home to live and work for.

In Ward 4, Republican incumbent Chuck Crabtree defeated challenger Faye Hendricks in a close race—86-to-82—and incumber Ward Five councilwoman Amy Craig won out over challenger Shannon Trogdon 57-to-36.

Craig says she’s grateful for her supporters and she looks forward to continuing her work to make Hopkinsville a better place.

Sumner says he’s ready to make the most of the trust people have put in him to lead in Ward 7.

Velez says the people’s support has humbled him and he hopes he can help move Hopkinsville forward.

Bogard says she’s ready to continue her efforts all the way to November, where she hopes people will support her again.

Ward Nine also has an independent candidate in Duana Shepard for the November election, and Draude will face off against Democrat Samual Goodman.

Then, in no great surprise, Christian Countians selected former President Donald Trump to serve as the Republican president in November’s election, while President Joe Biden will represent the Democratic party on the ballot.